(Not) Taking the ACT’s

It is application season which means I am filling out apps for university, writing papers for scholarships and taking the ACT’s. Because the ACT’s are not offered in Ireland my mum and I flew to Belgium to participate in the testing of maths, science and english skills. We left on Friday, but before that my friend Marguerite and I went downtown for bubble tea and Penny-boarding/Long-boarding in the park. Mum and I arrived at the hotel sometime after 12pm and we both proceeded to pass out. We woke up the next morning at 6:30am to shower, dress and eat breakfast. We hailed a taxi to the International school to take the test. The first inconvenience was that we ran into construction and had to find another route. After we were dropped off we had our second inconvenience: we didn’t know what building was hosting, so we ran around for a small while. Side note of possible importance: we walked by a black cat, and I wanted to pet it but we didn’t have time. Once we found where we were supposed to be we were 6 minutes late and they didn’t allow me to sit the test. After some discussion with the guy running the whole deal we headed back to the hotel and I took a 4 hour nap. Mum and I spent the rest of the day walking around the Grand Plaza. Sunday was our last day, being my mum and I we spent the day at the Anderlecht market. The market we attended was MASSIVE it took us about 4 hours to walk through roughly 85-90% of it, and we didn’t even look at everything! We got to try different fruits and cheap shoes and clothing. I got a nice fake leather jacket for only €10! After that, with some troubles, we made it home at around 11:30pm and I again passed out. My next ACT is now scheduled in December, when my mum and I will be flying once again to Belgium.

One thought on “(Not) Taking the ACT’s

  1. Pingback: Nollaig Shona Daoibh | The Call of the Irish

Leave a Reply

